andrew-coelho-aL7SA1ASVdQ-unsplash.jpeg
  • 38 Research projects

  • $ 5.5M from 2021 to 2026

  • 5 Universities

  • 50 collaborators

OBJECTIVE

The research program aims to provide data, tools and practical solutions to improve the resilience of Canadian forests to various disturbances and sources of stress, thereby contributing to the health of these ecosystems and the well-being of the communities that depend on them.

RESEARCH THEMES

observe.tiff

Observe

Collect data using innovative tools to assess the growth and vigor of trees, and thus allow more flexible and adaptive management strategies in the face of climatic stresses and disturbances.

anticipate.jpeg

Anticipate

Improve growth models and prediction methods to account for climate reality and synthesize the multiple risks of disturbance that forests face.

adapt.tiff

Adapt

To test innovative silvicultural treatments and forest management strategies adapted to the new socio-environmental reality, thus working to ensure the sustainability of the fiber supply across Canada.

 
carte_hub.png

RESEARCH SITES

The twelve research sites provide a series of areas of regional interest from which a number of projects can investigate similar questions, but using different data sets, sites, species and variables.

 

THE TEAM

file.jpeg

Alexis Achim

Nicholas5 (1).jpeg

Nicholas Coops

The scientific direction of the program is assured by Alexis Achim and Nicholas Coops. Twelve principal researchers and approximately 50 collaborators from across the country will contribute to this unprecedented research effort in forestry. The project brings together a consortium of five universities, five private forestry companies, a First Nations community, five provincial government agencies, Canadian Wood Fibre Centre (CWFC) and FPInnovations as national research organizations.

OUR PARTNERS

CCFB-logo.png
Nova Scotia Logo
HF Logo
logo wabanaki
ryam logo
Quebec Forets, faune et parc logo
Quesnel logo
New Brunswick Canada Logo
Ontario Logo
 
 

RESOURCES

Download the SILVA21 logo, presentation template or a short presentation.

Contact us 

Thank you !

SILVA21_Logo_Vectoriel_2.png
Programme de recherche en sylviculture financé par les subventions Alliance du CRSNG
 
 
Dirigé par Alexis Achim
asher-ward-AqXqL_V9qpM-unsplash.jpeg
 
andrew-coelho-aL7SA1ASVdQ-unsplash.jpeg
  • 38 Projets de recherche

  • 5.5M$ de 2021 à 2026

  • 5 Universités

  • 50 collaborateurs

OBJECTIF

Le programme de recherche vise à fournir des données, des outils et des solutions pratiques pour améliorer la résistance des forêts canadiennes à diverses perturbations et sources de stress, contribuant ainsi à la santé de ces écosystèmes et au bien-être des communautés qui en dépendent.

THÈMES DE RECHERCHE

observe.tiff

Observer

Recueillir les données grâce à des outils novateurs en vue d'évaluer la croissance et la vigueur des arbres, et permettre ainsi des stratégies de gestion plus flexibles et adaptatives en cas de perturbations et de stress climatiques. 

anticipate.jpeg

Anticiper

Améliorer les modèles de croissance et les méthodes de prédiction pour tenir compte de la réalité climatique et synthétiser les multiples risques de perturbation auxquels les forêts sont confrontées.

adapt.tiff

Adapter

Tester des traitements sylvicoles  novateurs et des stratégies de gestion forestière adaptés à la nouvelle réalité socio-environnementale, travaillant  ainsi à assurer la durabilité de  l'approvisionnement en fibres à travers le Canada.

 
carte_hub.png

SITES DE RECHERCHE

Les douze sites de recherche représentent diverses zones d'intérêt régional, pour lesquelles différents projets étudient des questions similaires, mais en utilisant des ensembles de données, des sites, des espèces et des variables propres à chacune des zones.

 

L'ÉQUIPE

file.jpeg

Alexis Achim

Nicholas5 (1).jpeg

Nicholas Coops

La direction scientifique du programme est assurée par Alexis Achim et Nicholas Coops. Douze chercheurs principaux et environ 50 collaborateurs de tout le pays contribueront à cet effort de recherche sans précédent dans le domaine de la sylviculture. Le projet réunit un consortium de cinq universités, cinq entreprises forestières privées, une communauté des Premières Nations, cinq agences gouvernementales provinciales, ainsi que le Centre Canadien sur la Fibre de Bois (CCFB) et FPInnovations en tant qu'organismes de recherche nationaux.

NOS PARTENAIRES

CCFB-logo.png
Nova Scotia Logo
HF Logo
logo wabanaki
ryam logo
Quebec Forets, faune et parc logo
Quesnel logo
New Brunswick Canada Logo
Ontario Logo
 
 

RESSOURCES

Téléchargez le logo, le gabarit de présentation ou une courte présentation de SILVA21.

Nous contacter

Merci pour votre envoi !